Rainbow challenge: Fabric

As promised earlier here is your introduction to the ‘colourful’ fabrics that will transform my wardrobe into something akin to Joseph’s technicolour dreamcoat!!

Without even paying too much attention you will have remarked that I have interpreted the colours fairly broadly and I am going very much the floral route for this challenge rather than the colour blocking route…..although there’s maybe an idea for my next project….

But, back to the challenge in hand. You may remember that I am aiming to make seven items of clothing over the course of the next few weeks, each item being based on a colour of the rainbow. Here I am showing the chosen fabrics. For some of them I have a rough idea of what I would like to make, for others I am for the moment pretty clueless so please feel free to let me know any thoughts you might have or ideas!

Step up RED. The red fabric is, after everything I have said above, a solid red wool fabric.Next, is ORANGE. Here I have two fabrics chosen – an orange and yellow floral printed Indian cotton and a solid orange cotton.The YELLOW place is held by this lovely yellow printed cotton which I bought some time ago . If I remember correctly it was designed by Liesl of Oliver and S fame for her first collection of fabric. For GREEN I have chosen the following Liberty cotton lawn. I never feel very comfortable in solid greens but I thought that this fabric could still take the GREEN place as you can see that the green leaves make up a good precentage of the print.BLUE. I love blues and have to confess that I had more than one fabric in the cupboard that could have taken this spot but I have chosen this cotton lawn, again by Liberty, as I love the drape and it has been in the cupboard for far too long.Following blue is INDIGO. Again a Liberty cotton lawn. The blue and violet colours in the photo below are pretty true to life but the brown seems to have become much more dominant in the photo than in reality where it is a much more retiring and less flashy muted brown.And, lastly VIOLET. Another cotton lawn from, well you can probably guess where from?? Yep, Liberty. {maybe I should have called this the Liberty challenge?}. This is their {in}famous Betsy pattern and I have been lusting after this print for a while so when I saw it for sale on ebay a couple of months ago I couldn’t help but snap it up.So there you have it. Those are the chosen fabrics. Next up will be the designs.

5 thoughts on “Rainbow challenge: Fabric

  1. So many gorgeous (and brightly coloured!) fabrics! I’m a huge fan of colour 🙂 Last year I made a skirt out of the green version of the betsy liberty fabric – it’s been one of my favourite skirts since! Being a huge Liberty fan… My favourite from your new stash is the indigo print 🙂

    1. thank you! I know- I love Liberty fabric too. So much so in fact that I seem to keep them in the stash as I have a hard time cutting into them but this challenge is hopefully going to bust that Liberty stash and get me wearing those lovely fabrics instead!

Leave a Reply

