The Hoodie

Whilst the ‘grand froid’* continues I decided it was time to sew something that I could get some instant gratification from, both in terms of a quick sew up and making something that I could wear straight away (I mean I enjoyed making the Meringue but it doesn’t do much for my motivation knowing that I am making something that is then going to sit in the cupboard for a few months before it can be worn).

A couple of months ago I bought a metre and a half of grey sweatshirt fabric on line. I hadn’t really got a plan for the fabric but it was cheap so I bought it anyway thinking that it would always come in for a sweatshirt or some tracksuit bottoms for the children.

When the fabric came I have to admit that I was a little disappointed. The colour was slightly darker than I had imagined it would be and slightly bluer. The fabric also had very little stretch. Nevermind, I thought. It will come in for something. And I promptly stashed it away in the back of the cupboard which is where I found it when I was looking for inspiration for my instant gratification project.

Thick, fleecy sweatshirt fabric + quick project for ‘le grand froid’ = perfect match.

Still unsure of what to make I grabbed my Sew U Home Stretch book and flicked through for inspiration. A few days earlier I had seen this hooded sweatshirt which I still have my eye on so when I saw the pattern modifications set out in the Sew U book to make a zipped hoodie I thought I would have a go.

A couple of hours later I was snuggled up on the sofa with a cup of tea wearing my new hoodie. I followed the modifications set out in the book to the raglan sleeve top and it went together easily and quickly. I lined the hood (instructions for which are also set out in the book) and mainly used my overlocker – except for attaching the ‘very useful’ pockets(!!)  for which I used a twin needle on my regular machine. As I didn’t have any jersey ribbing to use for the cuffs on the sleeves and around the waist I used the same fleecy sweatshirt fabric and made a pleat on each sleeve so that the sleeve fitted into the cuff (if you use ribbing you can just stretch the ribbing to fit the sleeve).

the very useful pockets!

The picture above shows the colour more accurately than the other photos and also shows the metal zipper that I used. As I was reliant on what I already had in the cupboard I made do with a zipper that was slightly shorter than the jacket (as you can see in the second photo above). Overall it doesn’t really matter for this top as despite it being lovely and warm given the colour of the fabric (which if I am honest I don’t love) it is a top that will get lots of wear at home and for yoga but is unlikely to be worn out and about very much. I am however pleased that I made it – firstly because it has already had lots of wear at home and it is lovely and warm – and secondly because I will make this pattern again – in a better colour – because hoodies are one of those items of clothing that I find useful – they can be thrown on – they are nice and warm – and great for hiding in!!

Right, I’m off to snuggle up in my hoodie with a hot chocolate!!

Happy Sunday!

2 thoughts on “The Hoodie

Leave a Reply

