The Meringue

And here it is. It has still been far too cold to expose my legs in a skirt outside but I thought it was about time I shared the finished article with you.You may remember that this is the first pattern from The Colette Sewing Handbook. It is described in the book as a skirt with a ‘simple and straightforward construction…It has a simple darted fit and sits just below the natural waist’.

The skirt sews up brilliantly. The pattern pieces all match up without any problem (as we have come to expect from Colette Patterns) and the instructions make putting it all together like a walk in the park. I especially love the instructions for attaching the facing after the invisible zipper which make for a very neat, dare I say, professional finish.

If you have a copy of the book or have seen a copy of the skirt you might have noticed that my skirt appears slightly more A-line than the one shown in the book. I didn’t make any changes to the pattern, other than to lengthen the front darts by a couple of centimetres but when I tried the skirt on again this morning I realised that I could probably have made the skirt a little smaller from the hips down (which would also eradicate the wrinkles across the skirt at hip level). I am not going to adjust this skirt as I think it looks fine as it is (particularly when ironed!!) and my normal skirt adjustment of just taking the side seams in a little will mess up the scallops. But I will note this adjustment for next time I use the pattern. {I’m not sure I’ll make another scallop edged skirt but it is a good simple skirt pattern to use without the scallops and one that can be modified quite easily to add pockets or other embellishments}.

I was slightly nervous about sewing the scallops but actually they sewed up remarkably easily – the hardest part being the pressing afterwards….but then I have a fairly fractious relationship with my iron at the best of times anyway*!

When I first tried the skirt I wasn’t completely sure about the scallops…but seeing them in the photos I have to say that they are growing on me and I now think that they look quite cute. As you may have noticed the fabric I used is more for the late Spring/Summer anyway and I think with tanned legs, sandals and a summery top this skirt will make a nice outfit. Who knows – I might even go the full hog and make a scallop edged top to complete the look!

Skirt pictured here with the red and white striped top I made before Christmas – remember it??

*apologies for the rather ‘unironed’ look.

2 thoughts on “The Meringue

Leave a Reply

