Scallops and hoodies

I have not been idle, despite what you might think if you have been looking for an update on my sewing….

the merengue is done

 

scallops and all. I have just been waiting until I have some decent photos of it on to show you. But we have the kind of weather at the moment that means that the thought of wearing a skirt, even indoors, makes my knees start to knock together in fear. It is too damn cold. So you will have to wait to see it on me.

All that I will say is that despite my reservations about the scallops I think it looks quite cute now that it is done. I’m not completely over the flowerpot feeling but paired with the right top and accessories I think I will get quite a lot of wear out of it (once the weather warms up!).

After the merengue I had been thinking of making a dress. The pastille dress is next up in the Colette Handbook of Sewing sew along and I had thought that this would be a good start to my Spring wardrobe. However, I just can’t get enthusiastic about sewing things for spring or summer when it is several degrees below zero outside. So instead I pulled out a metre and a half of grey sweatshirt fabric I had in the cupboard and cut out the pieces to make a hoodie. Just what I need to cuddle into doing my yoga for those chilly mornings. So far it has gone together very quickly so I shall try and get some photos of the finished article this weekend – hood up and all!!

 

Have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

