Late Fall Challenge – Item 2

For the second garment I decided to stay with florals and tops. I had bought the Jasmine pattern from Colette Patterns a couple of months ago and thought I would give it a try in the retro floral cotton lawn fabric that I had bought from this seller on ebay.The Jasmine pattern is, as you might be able to see from the description on the pattern envelope above, a bias cut top. I had seen a couple of versions sewn up on the Colette Patterns Forums and was keen to see whether the top was as flattering on me as it seemed on to be others.

I made up version 2 of the top – with the shorter neck tie and cuffed sleeves.The pattern was a dream to piece together and the bias cut really does flatter the body – gently hugging the body in the right places but without being tight. The bias cut also means that the top is easy to get on and off without having to sew nasty closures and without the top hanging off you once you have it on (in the way that some other garments that don’t have closures are – big in order to be able to get them on and off).

The cut gently shows off the waist without pulling out over the hips and the sleeves and gently gathered at the top which gives a feminine silhouette.Last, but not least. The neck tie is the part that I love the best. The construction of it is so neat. I can’t wait to make another with a contrasting neck tie to really make the most of it.I have already worn this top a few times and I’m sure it will become a firm favourite. Flattering and pretty and very very comfortable.

Next up will be my Clover jean trousers…

3 thoughts on “Late Fall Challenge – Item 2

Leave a Reply

