It’s a wrap

Towards the end of the summer I realised that whilst it was still very warm I should probably make myself at least one top that could be worn if the weather did get slightly cooler (given that the bump by this stage was big enough that none of my ‘normal’ clothes would fit over it).

I had, from time to time, during my pregnancy looked at DIY Maternity – a blog, run by a lady called Meg Nielsen, devoted to home-making maternity clothes. Meg also sells sewing patterns for maternity wear – including one for a wrapover top, perfect for third trimester wear.

Perfect for dealing with a large bump but the top could also be worn afterwards which when you only have weeks to go of your pregnancy is a bonus as the thought of spending time making something that in a month or so won’t fit isn’t that appealing. So I ordered the pattern and used a coral pink coloured jersey that I had bought earlier in the summer.

Once I had made the top I realised that the V neck wrap neckline would also be perfect for feeding and so I decided to see if I could adapt the pattern to make a slightly more streamlined top but keeping the v-necked wrap neckline.

The first version I made in a navy jersey.

The second in a Liberty print jersey that I bought on line from Raystitch.

I love these tops. They are comfortable, easy to wear for feeding bambino but also look great too (in my humble opinion!).

Leave a Reply

