Chocolate chip all bran cookies

I’ll be honest, I am not a fan of All Bran as a breakfast cereal. Too much like cardboard and the monotony of the taste, or rather what taste? I like my breakfasts fruity, tasty and infinitely more exciting.

However, I am aware that we should probably all eat more fibre than we do (see I was listening Grandma). It is just so boring though.

So when my eyes fell on the recipe on the side of the packet of All Bran on the table this morning (my husband thinks that if he eats All Bran a couple of times a week it negates the fact that the other mornings he eats Frosties!) and I saw the words ‘chocolate chip’ I thought that maybe my aversion to eating bran could be over. It was at least worth a try (and surely the inclusion of All Bran in the cookies cancels out the chocolate).

The recipe below is lifted straight from the Kellog’s All Bran packet.

  • 200g butter
  • 150g sugar
  • 250g flour
  • 1/2 sachet of baking powder
  • 125g dark chocolate, chopped (or I used pépites de chocolat)
  • 3 eggs
  • 100ml semi skimmed milk
  • 100g All Bran

mix the softened butter and sugar together then add all the other ingredients. put small dollops on a baking tray and bake at 190°c for about ten minutes. (makes about 30)

Perfect for a goûter. And the taste verdict? Kids loved them, adults loved them more!

Leave a Reply

